Explorations Beyond the Traditional Memoir: Taking the Authority to Write another Person’s Story

Denis Ledoux July Member Teleseminar July 21, 2017 11 AM PDT  12 PM MDT   1 PM CDT  2 PM EDT When you write your own memoir, you have access to the expert: you. While this is not easy, there are fewer hurdles to manage when writing about your life than when you write someone else’s story. You have to get into the point of view of someone whose life you have not lived. While writing through the...

read more

Five ways that Writing a Memoir Helps you Find Your Authentic Self and Voice

Jerry Waxler June Member webinar June 23, 2017 11 AM PDT  12 PM MDT   1 PM CDT  2 PM EDT When you first think about writing the story of your life, you may remember major challenges or disruptions. Over time, you begin looking at yourself as the hero/heroine on a quest to find something. What is the thing you’re looking for? What is the purpose of your life journey? In this presentation,...

read more

June Roundtable Webinar- FREE to All- June 15, 2017

Rifka Kreiter EVOLUTION OF A MEMOIR–EVERYTHING IN ITS OWN TIME 4 PM PDT  5 PM MDT  6 PM CDT  7 PM EDT June 15, 2017 We are so pleased that Rifka Kreiter will be joining us. Her book Home Free will take us back to the era of the sixties, and the adventures that were life changing for Rifka. We all go on a journey into the past as we write our memoir, and we discover and uncover surprises,...

read more

How Do You Choose the Best Storytelling Structure For Your Story?

Beth Barany May Member Webinar May 12, 2017 11 AM PDT  12 PM MDT  1 PM CDT  2 PM EDT  How to choose the right structure for your story is a question that haunts most writers. Especially intuitive writers — pantsers — who tend to write organically. Why does a story’s structure make writing it easier…or harder? When you find a storytelling structure that resonates with the...

read more

FREE Memoir Webinar: Truth in Memoir: A Journey of Healing and Transformation

May 19, 2017 Free Day Long event: 10 AM/1PM to 2 PM/5 PM We’re very excited here at NAMW to offer a day long discussion about truth in memoir–one of the hottest topics memoirists discuss online, in forums, and in running Facebook posts! As memoirists, we have to struggle with “the truth.” When we write our stories, we search to discover and reveal various angles of the truths in our...

read more
NAMW 30 Day Memoir Writing Course

Recent Posts

Myers makes a compelling case for the power of words as a form of healing and growth.

James W. Pennebaker, Ph.D. professor of psychology, The University of Texas at Austin and author, Opening Up and Writing To Heal